Skakk, skjev, falsk og forkjær – en kvartett

The world consists of infinite fragments, stones, timbers, people, cells, atoms whirling around each other and swap places.

Which of all these passages and locations do we provide value? Where arises recognition and a sense of purpose? What happens when they collide and crash into each other?

In Skakk, Skjev, Falsk og Forkjær 4 dancers examines a scale consisting of 20 movements that matches Valens 2. string quartet.

The musical and dancing quartet assembled in space and time. Here they meet, pass each other, support each other, and tangent to override each other in the same manner as Valens 12-tone-themed music and dancers movement scale entangled and runs through each their individual paths.

The title is taken from a newspaper review of Valens music by a conservative and unnamed reviewer. 

16.april 2016 – Haugesund Billedgalleri

Choreographed by: Ingeleiv Berstad

Dancers: Ida Cathrin Utvik, Ingeborg Haakonsholm, Rikke Westerlund Lie, Hilde Bjørnebøle

Music: Oslo String Quartet – Geir Inge Lotsberg, Per Kristian Skalstad, Are Sandbakken, Øystein Sonstad

Composer: Fartein Valen

Produser: Eva Grainger

Supported by: Kulturrådet, Fond for Lyd og Bilde, Fond for utøvende Kunstnere, Haugesund Kommune and local sponsors

Video made by Eirik Folkedal:

skakk skjev